Film
---
play

Sound of Metal

Dir: Darius Marder
Cast: Riz Ahmed, Olivia Cooke, Paul Raci
120mins   2021   US   15   English   

Keeping at bay his inner demons by devoting himself to art, metal drummer, Ruben, has been living for the moment for the past four years. Then, while on tour with his lead-singer/girlfriend, Lou, Ruben realises that his hearing is rapidly deteriorating. As this sudden hearing loss turns his world upside down, and numbing fear paired with angry denial take over, Ruben reluctantly accepts to join a small deaf community overseen by Joe, a compassionate Vietnam War veteran. Now, Ruben needs to find some solid ground, understand that being deaf is not a handicap and that deafness isn't something to fix. But, is Ruben willing to accept his new life and learn how to be deaf?

'A film that deserves to be seen by the widest possible audience, reminding us of cinema's unique ability to challenge, entertain, uplift and unite' - Mark Kermode, Observer



Showtimes


Mon 17 May

17:30
20:00

Tue 18 May

14:30
17:30

Wed 19 May

20:00

Thu 20 May

17:00

Fri 21 May

20:15

Sat 22 May

20:30

Sun 23 May

17:00
19:30

Mon 24 May

17:00

Tue 25 May

20:00

Wed 26 May

17:00

Thu 27 May

20:00