Film
---
play

Summer of Soul (…Or. When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)

Dir: Ahmir "Questlove" Thompson
117mins   2021   US   12A   English   

Part of Depot's Summer of Music season

In his acclaimed debut as a filmmaker, Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson presents a powerful and transporting documentary - part music film, part historical record - created around an epic event that celebrated Black history, culture and fashion. Over the course of six weeks in the summer of 1969, just one hundred miles south of Woodstock, The Harlem Cultural Festival was filmed in Mount Morris Park (now Marcus Garvey Park). The footage was never seen and largely forgotten ... until now.

Summer of Soul shines a light on the importance of history to our spiritual well-being and stands as a testament to the healing power of music during times of unrest, both past and present. The feature includes never-before-seen concert performances by Stevie Wonder, Nina Simone, Sly & the Family Stone, Gladys Knight & the Pips, Ray Baretto, Abbey Lincoln & Max Roach and more.

'There is so much beauty in this film, in detail in the outfits of the attendees, the composition of the interviews and in the tightly constructed contextualising montages' - Lella Latif, Little White Lies

 

 



Showtimes


Tue 27 July

18:00

Wed 28 July

17:30

Thu 29 July

15:45

Fri 30 July

17:15

Sat 31 July

17:15

Sun 1 August

17:15

Mon 2 August

20:15

Tue 3 August

17:15

Wed 4 August

20:30

Thu 5 August

20:30