Live Arts cinema

As well as bringing Lewes an innovative programme of mainstream, art house and independent films; world cinema, documentaries and classic film, we also strive to bring you the best screenings from The Royal Opera House, Royal Ballet and National Theatre, as well as other live art events.

Royal Opera

ROH: Madama Butterfly 12A
Tue 27 Sep until Sun 2 Oct 14:00
Set in 19th-century Japan, Puccini's..

ROH: Aida 12A
Wed 12 Oct until Sun 16 Oct 14:00
Love and duty collide and..

ROH: La bohème 12A
Thu 20 Oct until Sun 23 Oct 14:00
Puccini's opera of passion, friendship..

ROH: The Barber of Seville 12A
Wed 15 Feb until Sun 19 Feb 14:00
With vocal fireworks, scheming lovers..

ROH: Turandot 12A
Wed 22 Mar until Sun 26 Mar 14:00
Puccini’s final opera is a..

ROH: The Marriage of Figaro 12A
Thu 27 Apr until Sun 30 Apr 14:00
Director David McVicar brings out..

ROH: Il Trovatore 12A
Tue 13 Jun until Sun 18 Jun 14:00
A devastating curse rises from..

Royal Ballet

ROH: Mayerling 12A
Wed 5 Oct until Sun 9 Oct 14:00
Dangerous desires, family secrets and..

The Royal Ballet: A Diamond Celebration 12A
Wed 16 Nov until Sun 20 Nov 14:00
A dazzling showcase marking 60..

ROH: The Nutcracker 12A
Thu 8 Dec until Sun 11 Dec 14:00
Discover the enchantment of ballet..

ROH: Like Water for Chocolate 12A
Thu 19 Jan until Sun 22 Jan 14:00
Christopher Wheeldon’s new full-length ballet..

ROH: Cinderella 12A
Wed 12 Apr until Sun 16 Apr 14:00
A new production of the..

ROH: The Sleeping Beauty 12A
Wed 24 May until Sun 28 May 14:00
Magic and fairytale characters are..

National Theatre

NT Live: Prima Facie 15
Thu 29 Sep 20:30
A young, brilliant barrister who..

NT Live: Much Ado About Nothing 12A
Tue 4 Oct 13:00
Katherine Parkinson (The IT Crowd) and..

NT Live: Jack Absolute Flies Again 12A
Thu 6 Oct until Tue 11 Oct 13:00
Emily Burns directs this spectacularly..

National Theatre Live: The Seagull 12A
Thu 3 Nov until Sun 6 Nov 13:00
Emilia Clarke (Game of Thrones)..

National Theatre Live: The Crucible 12A
Thu 26 Jan until Sun 29 Jan 13:00
A witch hunt is beginning..

National Theatre Live: Othello 12A
Thu 23 Feb until Sun 26 Feb 13:00
An extraordinary new production of..

Glyndebourne

Live-broadcast concerts and special events